Scripting CloneZilla

I freely admit I borrowed a lot of this from other sources, but here’s my spin on it.

First of all, CloneZilla uses a “squashfs” file system. Basically, a highly compressed OS partition & thats how they get it to fit in such a small space.  You need to unsquash it. You will need a linux system (for this and other things). Open package manager and you will need to tell it that it’s Ok to install from 3rd party sources – if I jog my memory, I’ll post how. Now search for squashfs-tools, and install it.

The next step is to unsquash the file system, so you can add stuff to it. I worked from a USB thumb drive that I had already installed clonezilla to. So, in my case, I opened a terminal,  then cd /media/Clonezilla/live…  your path will vary, but the important part is that it is in the “live” folder on the thumb drive.

Make a copy of the existing filesystem.squashfs, then run this command: sudo unsquashfs -f ./filesystem.squashfs  It will basically unsquash the file system.

/Volumes/CLONEZILLA/live/squashfs-root/opt/drbl/sbin

======================

Ok, I give up. Let me know if you get it to work. I get a kernel panic when I boot to the re-squashed system.

Posted February 13, 2011 by mmdmurphy in freeware, Linux, Mac, tips, windows

