Courion Tip – Adding New Multiple Targets to Multiple Workflows Quickly

So, here’s the scenario. You have to add 50 targets to your password change workflows. Someone once said, “If you want to find the most efficient way to do something, give it to a lazy person”. You want to do this as quickly as possible. In our case, we have 3 production servers – two that the end users actually use for password resets (behind a load balancer) and one that I use to add new targets, workflows prior to impacting the end user.
For now, lets talk about that third server only….
We have 6 password related workflows… my boss said I can post about courion, as long as I don’t provide any information about our actual network. So, let’s pretend our workflows are called:

    I’m New Here
    Try it again
    Change it myself
    Reset it myself
    control alt delete
    I got a new target

Next concern – and this is pretty much THE critical part – You need to know what the unique resource data on these workflows is like. What do I mean? Well, after having worked with ours for several years now, I know that the unique resource data for “I’m New Here”, “Change it myself”, “Reset it myself” and “I got a new target” workflows is identical. “Try it again” and “control alt delete” have different unique resource data settings.
So, time to sit in front of the keyboard…

  1. “Best Practice” tip – archive your configuration before you start. Depending on what I am doing, I sometimes manually copy the cfgfile.db. You can (should) also make a copy of your workflow inside the courion admin tool itself. To do this, I create a new workflow by copying an existing workflow – but I put the letter “z” in front (so it sorts to the bottom). So, I would now have a “zI’m New Here” workflow.
  2. While you are in there, you might as well go ahead and make copies of the other workflows – better safe than sorry!
  3. You HAVE to manually add all the targets (Global settings, target configuration) and the unique resource data (Actions, Password Reset, … Unique resource data) to one of the workflows. Again, I chose the “I’m New Here” workflow. Test it.
  4. Now use the Migration Utility – BUT… when it comes to selecting what to export, export ONLY the global settings  / target configuration / PMM Gateway and the Password Reset / Unique Resource data / PMM Gateway. NO OTHER part of the workflow. Save this off to a file, let’s call it temp.xml. Close out the Migration Utility
  5. Now make a copy of the temp.xml (let’s call it “Change it myself”) edit it in a text editor (and make sure it saves it just as text – in other words, do NOT use Microsoft Word. I personally use “UltraEdit” or “Notepad++”
  6. Now, do a search and replace – search for “I’m New Here” (ie, the name of the workflow you did the export from) and replace with “Change it myself” (ie, the name of the workflow you want to add these targets to. You have to get the names EXACTLY right.
  7. Save the file.
  8. Now go into the Migration Utility, and import the *.xml file you just edited. During the import process, I prefer to select ONLY the global settings  / target configuration / PMM Gateway and the Password Reset / Unique Resource data / PMM Gateway. NO OTHER part of the workflow. Yes, if that’s all you exported, that’s all that will be there to import – BUT, if you, uh, “messed up” that during the export, here’s the chance to redeem yourself and not ruin your workflow. So, click on the little “+” signs and make sure….
  9. Complete the import, and then you will need to update your ticketing configuration – I have procedures here, but I will tell you about that as a separate post.
  10. TEST TEST TEST. Your “Change it Myself” workflow now as at least the same number of targets (and they should work!) as your “I’m New Here” workflow. Why? Well, it overlays the stuff you import, it doesn’t replace the entire workflow. And that’s why I say “at least the same number of targets” – if your “Change it Myself” workflow has some that the “I’m New Here” doesn’t – it will still have them.
  11. What about the other workflows, where the unique resource data is different? Well, you can do the same sort of thing, EXCEPT export only the Global Settings/ Target Configuration, do the search and replace, and then import just that part. You’ll still have to do the Unique Resource Data – but (and I think this alone is worth doing it this way) you will be sure you have those targets in the other workflow. Our company has several hundred connections & it is cumbersome to make sure each workflow has all the targets (for workflows that should have all the targets, of course!)
  12. I make a backup copy on the other production boxes, using that create new workflow / copy from / prepend with the letter z method before I import.
  13. Now do your “regular” export import to get the updated workflows onto the other servers. I usually only do 2 at a time, but that’s up to you.
Posted November 13, 2010 by mmdmurphy in Courion Tip

Tagged with

