Grub 2 reinstall

http://ubuntuguide.net/how-to-restore-grub-2-after-reinstalling-windows-xpvistawin7

Much to my frustration, these directions (the link above) seem to think that you know what the heck you are doing. I can’t say I did/do, but let me try to remember what’s missing from them… Using their “method 2”

  • After you’re running the live CD, start gparted. Select the partition you think your linux is on, and click on info or about or something like that. You want the UUID which will be on the screen. Copy it and paste into a blank file. You need this. While you are there, make a note of what file system it is. For instance, ext3, you need to know this as well.
  • To mount the old linux install, you’ll do something like this  “mount -t {file system type from the step above, probably ext3} -u {paste the UUID you got from the step above} /media/oldsys”
  • You can now access your old files by going to /media/oldsys
  • Their line “grub-install –root-directory=/mnt/ /dev/sda” should be more like “grub-install –root-directory=/media/oldsys/ /dev/sda”
  • Why /dev/sda? You are going to put the grub bootloader on the first hard drive, in the master boot record – so, it has to be /dev/sda
  • When I rebooted to Windows 7, it told me it had to repair the system. I let it, and all is well, but that made me very nervous…

 This is just a note to myself about something that sounded interesting :  http://ubuntuguide.net/decorate-grub-2-boot-loader-using-burg

Posted April 27, 2010 by mmdmurphy in freeware, Linux, tips

Tagged with

