Apache / XAMPP and User Access Control   Leave a comment

I am considering moving my website to a pc that is running Vista 64 bit. So, I did a little research, and the most common method is to disable user access control and then proceed as usual. I am sorry, but this doesn’t sit well with me. So, I thought I would document what I am doing.

First off, I did a very much default install of XAMPP using these instructions http://wiki.fiforms.org/index.php/Installing_XAMPP MySQL seems to be fine, but Apache won’t start. Well, if you look in c:\xampp\apache\logs\error.log, you will see that it couldn’t something something to 0.0.0.0:80…. So, I did a search in c:\xampp\apache\conf\httpd.conf for that, made a copy of that line (make sure you can undo everything you do!), and changed it to 127.0.0.1  I then tried to start it, and it failed, same sort of message, except 0.0.0.0:443…. Well, if you look in the *.conf file, you won’t see it – but you will see it’s loading some “extra” conf files near the end. So, I did a search for ssl, and found where its loading the extra *.conf file for ssl, and commented it out.

(Forgot to mention – during the install, I opted out of IPv6 support. Why? Well, Security Now talked about IPv6, and mentioned that it uses your MAC address as part if it’s “id” string – thus making you completely trackable. Also, I am very sure my wireless hub, etc., doesn’t support it anyway)

Now the XAMPP control panel seems to start Apache and MySQL without issue…. I will keep plugging at it, but seems like disabling user access control is TOO drastic a measure just to get it running. Seems like you would want MORE security on a web server, not less!

Other notes:

http://www.myownserver.info/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=67:installxampp172windows&catid=1

===== WELL, It works!!!!!! You’re looking at this on a Vista 64 machine with User Access Control still enabled !!!!!!

Posted September 10, 2009 by mmdmurphy in blogging, freeware, tips

Leave a Reply

