Sound cards / multi boot system / drivers

I am currently working on setting up my computer as a multiboot system, and for unrelated reasons, I had to reinstall my Windows Vista partition. My Sound Blaster Live isn’t supported under Vista. It used to work, but my guess is that it’s because I did an upgrade install. A clean install gave me a sound card that wouldn’t work. So, I went to ebay, and bought a cheap sound card from Sim Wai uzlab dot 2008 at yahoo dot com dot hk for under $8.00 – including shipping!! Not only does this have Vista drivers available, but XP, NT, 2000, and Linux! It came today, I took out the old card, install this one, and booted to each operating system. Vista and Server 2003, I had to install drivers. Ubuntu already had the drivers for it (in the kernel?) so all I had to do was select it. I haven’t yet booted to puppy linux, but I am guessing it will also have no issue. Worth every cent, and why can’t someone like Creative Labs update their drivers??
===========
Forgot to mention, it sounds just as good or better than my old sound card. (not that I have perfect hearing….)
===========
Found yet another issue… And this is unconfirmed, but seems like something changes when I boot to Vista… If I boot to Vista, then reboot to Ubunutu, the NVidia driver won’t load?? Anyway, when I get home, I will boot to puppy linux, and copy that /etc/X11/*.config file to my Ubuntu partition…

Posted March 2, 2009 by mmdmurphy in Audio, Linux, tips, windows

Tagged with ,

