Windows Vista and ReadyBoost

I’ve been hearing about ReadyBoost for quite a while now, and I have a USB thumb drive that I’m not really using (It’s 2 gig, and I now have a newer bigger one!). So I thought I would take the plunge last night. (Dell w/ 2.8 gig processor and 1 gig ram {and, no, I can’t expand beyond 1 gig})

Simple to set up, but that isn’t really the point. I didn’t make any measurements, this is just emperical. Internet Explorer and Firefox didn’t seem any faster (as expected!). Office 2007 might have been faster, but couldn’t really say. I then launched Team Fortress, and it made a BIG difference.

What about a USB drive sticking out all the time just waiting to get broken off? The Dell I have has 2 USB ports in the front under a cover, and this USB drive fits perfectly under the cover = no problem!

Posted October 23, 2008 by mmdmurphy in tips, windows

Tagged with

