Archive for April 26, 2008

Email

Been struggling with what to do about email. I can set up my own email server, get an email address from www.godaddy.com, or get email from http://www.google.com/a/help/intl/en/business/applications.html. I have tried all 3 (below) and they all work, so I could change at a moment’s notice.

When you buy from godaddy, you get a free email account, and they basically do all the work. I tried it, but thought I wanted to try hosting it myself. I left it more or less set up on their side, in case I want to use it later.

I installed hMailServer (http://www.hmailserver.com/) on my box that is running wordpress, it was easy since I already have xampp installed. No need to add a database, since they have a script to handle that too.

I am currently using google, and here’s my settings. I currently have the hMailServer service disabled on my PC, but I think if I change the priority below to something less than 10 and re-enable the service, I should be all set.

image

Posted April 26, 2008 by mmdmurphy in blogging, email, tips, windows

Tagged with