http://update.microsoft.com displays blank page   Leave a comment

Got the kids a new (well, used) computer for Christmas. Pulled their hard drive out, put it in the new one, and everything worked (except… more in a moment) after Windows XP auto detected the “new” hardware.

Now for the “except”… When I went to http://update.microsoft.com, it looked like it was loading, but after a moment instead of getting the update site, I got a blank page. After much time and research, I finally found a reference about .NET – so I tried to uninstall that, but couldn’t.

Next I found something about .NET and Windows Scripting Host. So, I downloaded the latest Windows Scripting Host and installed that. Rebooted, and everything seems to work now.

I can’t say for sure if it was the .NET or the scripting, but if you are reading this you might be desperate…. Try it…

(Oh, yea, I also found instructions for removing Internet Explorer – uninstalling and reinstalling did NOT help me.)

Posted February 25, 2008 by mmdmurphy in tips, windows

Leave a Reply

